May 3 day: Stage 1

2015-05-02 12.24.24-1

Although my motivation to race has been dwindling since Kirdford 2/3’s, I enjoyed Kitsmead on Thursday, and strangely looked forward to the May 3 day, even though I had committed to doing only the first stage. I spoke to the rest of the Paceline team pre-race, and sussed out who could do what.

The Alfold course is shocking through the twisty sections. I sat in, and after the first prime, saw Albert Ellison’s Botecchia kit in the break, with a Southdown and Wyndymilla rider, and a Twickenham rider (James Bradley) attempting to bridge. With Wyndymilla controlling the front for the first 10 miles and being well represented, I attacked 13.5 miles in. It was a new strategy for me to go so early, but I hoped to get other teams doing chasing as we didn’t have a designated sprinter as such for me to bury myself for. On going, I thought to myself that I could really have used a skinsuit and my deep sections/latex tubes!

We worked well, and after 50 minutes, Albert put in a big dig coming into Alfold. The Wyndymilla began to miss turns after this, and the Southdown guy was doing shorter, slower turns. Our gap went from 1 minute, down to 25 seconds on the final lap of Alfold, and we could see the bunch, with Pat and Stu Spies between us. As they got across, we were now 7, and if truth be told, it took us 20 minutes to organise ourselves. Stu Spies was clearly getting agitated as this, and rightly so!

Onto the Dunsfold circuit, and Albert was also now struggling with Pat & Stu fresh and strong. Any gaps that were opening, I was telling Pat to stop chasing, and would try to put my nose into the wind at every given opportunity to close the gaps. I also told him to attack on the last lap with Stu Spies and the Twickenham guy, as it would be their best chance of staying away from Albert, the Wyndymilla guy, and the Southdowns. With 2 to go, I was feeling okay, like I could finish with the group. We were working really well at this point with a through and off until the back section towards the red phone box when it went tits up again. At this point I decided to do longer pulls and try to empty myself to keep the break away. I did 2 or 3 longer stints on the front through the twisty bits and on the downhill, sat on the back, but was totally spent. With the bunch clearly about 10s behind. We were joined by a rider from Army Cycling Union.

As we came onto the bell lap, I sat up and drifted back to the bunch, being towed by Jamie Lowden. Albert and the Wyndymilla guy also dropped off. I couldn’t even get into the paceline to disrupt the chase, so went through the peloton like a bowling ball, looking for our riders. I found Tom and asked him to get to the front if he could to disrupt the chase, and within 5 minutes, he was on the front through the fastest bit (twisty section), doing a fantastic job of blocking – he really helped Pat’s lead! Fantastic teamwork.

As we came down the descent, I couldn’t keep the pace, and rolled in, passed a crash, and was delighted to hear Pat got 3rd. I was empty. Just short of 2 hours at 270w/292w NP, and 3 hours at 250w, 282w NP.

[u][b]Stat Attack:[/b][/u]
TSS: 245
2588kj

AP: 250w / 282w NP
Avg HR: 172bpm (83%)
Cadence: 98rpm

In the break:
AP: 270w / 292w NP.
Avg HR: 178bpm (86%)
Avg cadence: 100rpm

[u][b]GC:[/b][/u]
1st James Bradley ~2h50m
2nd Army CU + 10s
3rd Pat Wright +20s
4th Stu Spies +30s
Rest of the bunch + 1 minute

Shame I’m a DNS for the last 2 stages and won’t further participate, but I feel like I’ve contributed!

Leave a comment